Health

Cat asthma is a serious broncho-pulmonary disease to which Siamese cats may be more predisposed.

The origin of an asthma attack seems to be related to repeatedly breathing in an allergen, which could be powder, dusty litter, spray from an aerosol or cigarette smoke.

Clinically, an asthma attack takes the form of a sudden dry, hacking cough, and rapid and difficult breathing. The cat will generally have its head down, mouth open and neck stretched, making a loud noise when exhaling.

A) The key role of the owner :

An asthma crisis is an emergency and you should follow the following procedure :

      Contact a vet emergency service
      Don’t panic since your worry will be picked up by your distressed animal
      Calm your pet because touching it or making a noise will increase its stress and make its breathing even more difficult

B) The vital role of the emergency vet :

      Reoxygenating your cat using portable oxygen
      Injecting corticosteroids to interrupt the inflammatory cycle
      Injecting a bronchodilator
      Getting your cat to inhale a bronchodilatater

      Generally, improvement in breathing should be noted within 30 minutes of treatment. If there is resistance to treatment, then immediate hospitalisation will be obligatory.

Physiology

Rabbits, guinea pigs and rodents and lagomorphs in general, are small mammals that spend much of the day eating and issuing droppings. Their food should be at least 80% hay, a vital product that allows them to file their continually-growing teach and maintain their digestive flora.

Physiopathology

For these species, loss of appetite inevitably leads to intestinal ileus, in other words to food getting stuck in transit and lesions of the liver. In addition, when they stop eating, they also stop drinking and rapidly dehydrate. The bacterial flora in their intestines and caecums change and spread, leading to consequences that can be fatal.

Therefore stopping eating fo more than 24 hrs is a life-threatening emergency that should be subject to consultation with a vet as soon as possible!!!

Rabbits and guinea pigs stopping eating is generally one of the first noticeable symptoms when they get ill. The problem for the vet is to work out why they stopped eating.

Pathologies

Two very frequent illnesses in these species seem to be the cause of most cases of loss of appetite.

1°) Dental malocclusion :

Dental malocclusion is overjutting teeth due to the teeth not being used enough, which leads to injury in the mouth cavity. Often due to food with little fibre (teeth are worn down properly by circular movements when chewing fibre, similar to those of a mill, unlike the movements when eating concentrated food.) Rabbits’ teeth NEVER stop growing. Other possible causes are loss of appetite, injury or genetics (malocclusion of the incisors in dwarf species).

Malocclusion of the incisors is easy to see and treat due to their prominent position, malocclusion of the premolar and molar teeth is much more concealed because the pathology is undetectable as long as the animal doesn’t stop eating.

The teeth will get ground into points, causing injury within the mouth, which will suddenly get them to generate a lot of saliva and stop eating. The inner part of their front paws gets wet from rubbing the saliva on their lips. Sometimes their teeth can get pushed down into the gums/sockets, causing purulent conjunctivitis or large mouth ulcers. In guinea pigs, ‘dental bridges’ can be seen above the tongue due to a meeting of the teeth on either side.

The owner’s role :
      1°)Syringe-feed the animal three times a day until it returns to a normal diet.
      2°) Rehydrate the animal with pineapple juice.
      3°) Monitor its production of droppings.

RETURN YOUR PET TO A BALANCED DIET of hay!! Note that the problem often reoccurs.

2°) Gastric/intestinal obstruction :

Generally occurs during the moulting period. Stomach (gastric) obstructions are seen more frequently than intestinal obstructions. These occlusions are usually caused by balls of tangled fur known as “fur balls“.

When an obstruction forms, our small mammal pets immediately stop eating and drinking. Their droppings get drier and drier and decrease, finally stopping completely. You can feel these fur balls when you feel their abdomen, either towards the front (a blockage of the stomach) or in the middle or at the rear (meaning a blockage of the intestine).

The owner’s role :
      1°) Rehydrate the animal with pineapple juice.
      2°) See whether your pet starts eating again.
      3°) Monitor the production of droppings.
      4°) Call the vet again as a matter of urgency if there is no improvement after twelve hours.

Main causes of ileus: Not only obstruction during the moulting season, but also :

  • - unbalanced diet (lack of fibre -> slowing of transit of food through the digestive system)
  • - lack of exercise (exercise stimulates transit)
  • - stress or pain leading to loss of appetite.

Santé

L’asthme du chat est une pathologie broncho-pulmonaire importante. Les siamois sembleraient y être predisposés.

L’origine d’une crise semblerait être liée à l’inhalation répétée d’un allergène. Ce dernier peut être de la poudre, de la litière poussiéreuse ou un aérosol comme de la fumée de cigarette.

Cliniquement, une crise d’asthme se manifeste par une apparition soudaine de toux sèche et quinteuse, d’une respiration difficile et rapide. Le chat apparaitra généralement la tête vers le bas avec le coup tendu et la gueule ouverte en émettant un bruit important lors de l’expiration.

A) Le role clé du propriétaire:

La crise d’asthme est une urgence et la démarche à suivre est la suivante:

      Contacter un service d’urgence vétérinaire
      Ne pas paniquer car votre angoisse sera ressentie par votre animal en détresse
      Mettre votre animal au calme car le fait de le toucher ou de faire du bruit va augmenter le stress de l’animal et détériorer encore plus sa respiration

B) Le rôle indispensable du vétérinaire urgentiste :

      Réoxygénation de l’animal à l’aide d’oxygène portable
      Injection de corticoïdes permettant d’interrompre le cycle inflammatoire
      Injection de bronchodilatateur
      Inhalation de bronchodilatateur

      Généralement, une amélioration de la respiration doit être constatée 30 min après le traitement. En cas de résistance au traitement, une hospitalisation immédiate est alors obligatoire.

Physiologie

Le lapin et le cobaye, et d’une manière plus générale les rongeurs et les lagomorphes, sont des petits mammifères qui passent la plus grande partie de leur journée à manger et faire des crottes. Leur nourriture doit se composer de minimum 80% de foin, produit indispensable leur permettant de se limer leurs dents en croissance continue et d’entretenir leur flore digestive.

Physiopathologie

Chez ces espèces, une anorexie conduit inévitablement à un ileus intestinale c’est à dire à une stase du transit ainsi qu’à des lésions au niveau du foie. De plus, en cessant de s’alimenter, ils arrêtent de boire et se déshydratent rapidement. La flore bactérienne peuplant leurs intestins et notamment leurs caecums va alors se modifier et dériver entrainant des conséquences pouvant être fatales.

De ce fait, toute anorexie de plus de 24h est une urgence vitale qui doit faire l’objet d’une consultation vétérinaire dans les plus brefs délais !

L’anorexie du lapin et du cobaye est généralement l’un des premiers symptômes observé lorsqu’ils tombent malade. Toute la difficulté pour le vétérinaire est de comprendre sa cause.

Pathologies

Cependant, deux pathologies très fréquentes chez ces espèces semblent être à l’origine de la plupart des anorexies.

1°) La malocclusion dentaire:

La malocclusion dentaire est une mauvaise position des dents liée à un usage insuffisant entrainant alors des blessures dans la cavité buccale. Souvent due à une ration pauvre en fibres (l’usure des dents est permise par les mouvements rotatoires de mastication des fibres, semblable à ceux d’une meule et différents des mouvements permis par la mastication des concentrés). En effet la pousse des dents chez le lapin est PERMANENTE. Les autres causes possible sont une anorexie, un traumatisme ou génétique (malocclusion des incisives chez les races naines).

Alors que la malocclusion des incisives sont facilement visible et traitable du fait de leur disposition, la malocclusion des prémolaire et des molaires est beaucoup plus sournoise car tant que l’animal continue à s’alimenter, cette pathologie est indétectable.

Ainsi, des pointes dentaires vont se former et la douleur provenant des blessures buccales va subitement les faire arrêter de manger et saliver abondamment. A force de se frotter leur babines trempées, la face interne de leurs pattes antérieures deviennent à leur tour mouillées. Parfois, à force de pousser, leur dents peuvent s’enfoncer dans leurs orbites et provoquer des conjonctivites purulentes ou bien des abcès buccaux volumineux. Chez le cobaye des “ponts dentaires” par dessus la langue, correspondant à la jonction de dents de deux côtés opposés, peuvent être observés.

Rôle du propriétaire:
      1°) Gaver l’animal trois fois par jour jusqu’à reprise d’une alimentation normale
      2°) Réhydrater l’animal avec du jus d’ananas
      3°) Surveiller la production de crottes

Rééquilibrez son régime alimentaire au foin! Attention les récidives sont fréquentes.

2°) L’obstruction gastrique/intestinale:

Apparaissant généralement en période de mue, les obstructions s’observent plus fréquemment au niveau de l’estomac que de l’intestin. Ces occlusions sont pour la plupart causées par des poils qui se sont entremêlés en amas appelés “trichobézoards”.

Dès que l’obstruction se forme, nos petits mammifères arrêtent immédiatement de manger et de boire. Leurs crottes apparaissent de plus en plus sèches et rare jusqu’à l’arrêt définitif. La palpation de leur abdomen permet de mettre en évidence des masses, soit en avant, signifiant un blocage de l’estomac, soit au milieu ou en arrière, signifiant un blocage de l’intestin.

Rôle du propriétaire:
      1°) Réhydrater l’animal avec du jus d’ananas
      2°) Surveiller la reprise d’une alimentation
      3°) Surveiller la production et de crottes
      4°) Rappeler le vétérinaire d’urgence si pas d’amélioration après 12h

Causes principales d'ileus : Pas seulement l'obstruction lors de mue mais aussi :

  • - déséquilibre alimentaire (manque de fibres -> diminution du transit intestinal)
  • - défaut d'exercice (exercice stimule le transit)
  • - stress ou douleur entraînant anorexie.