Prévention

Why vaccinate? It provides permanent protection against some highly dangerous and contagious diseases. A booster is necessary to extend the vaccine’s effectiveness.
Dogs

Dogs can be effectively vaccinated against 6 different diseases:

  • Canine distemper
  • Parvovirus
  • Infectious canine hepatitis
  • Leptospirosis
  • Kennil cough (vaccination is compulsory when many dogs
  • Rabies (vaccination is compulsory for dogs travelling abroad or visiting the Belgian Ardennes mountains area))

First vaccination certificate

The first vaccination automatically covers canine distemper, parvovirus, hepatitis A and leptospirosis. If the puppy is in a region at high risk of contamination with parvovirus, it must receive its first vaccination at 6 weeks old and then two further injections, one a month later and the second a month after that. If the region where the puppy was born is infection-free, the first vaccination will be at 8 weeks old, when the puppy is no longer protected by antibodies from its mother. A single booster a month later will need to be made.

Boosters

The date of the booster will vary according to the type of vaccine used by your vet. Some need to be done every year, whereas others need topping up every 2 or 3 years. We advise you to ask your vet about this.

Cats

Cats can be effectively vaccinated against 4 different diseases :

  • Coryza
  • Typhus (feline infectious enteritis)
  • Leukaemia, if the animal goes outside or is in contact with non-vaccinated cats
  • Rabies (vaccination is compulsory for cats travelling abroad or visiting the Belgian Ardennes mountains area)

First vaccination certificate :

The first vaccination automatically covers coryza and typhus. The kitten must receive its first vaccination when it is 8 weeks old and no longer protected by antibodies from its mother. It will be given a booster a month later.

Boosters

The booster will need to be done each year.

Small pets
Rabbits

Pet rabbits can be vaccinated against myxomatosis and VHD (viral haemorrhagic disease). One injection a year is needed. Note that ‘apartment rabbits’ are also liable to catch this disease because it is spread by insects.

Ferrets

There aren’t any registered vaccines in Belgium suitable for use on ferrets, but such vaccines are available in other countries, such as the United States. Two vaccinations are important for the domestic ferret: against distemper and rabies. Vaccination against rabies is a legal requirement if the ferret travels abroad and an annual booster is needed too.

Why sterilise? Permanent contraception. Eliminating the risk of infections of the womb (Pyometra, Endometritis), sexual behaviour, nervous lactation and, sometimes, a reduction in aggressiveness.

If sterilisation is done quite early, it reduces the risk of some types of cancer (mammary cancer, uterine cancer, cancer of the vagina, prostate and testicles).

PS : Contraceptive pills can cause uterine infections and mammary tumours (and other problems) and should always be avoided.

Dogs
  • Female dogs: Ideally sterilise before coming on heat for the first time or, failing that, between the first and second time of coming on heat. This date depends on the breed: between five and seven months for small breeds, between seven and twelve months for medium-sized breeds and between twelve and eighteen breeds for big races.
  • Male dogs: It is generally advised to wait until puberty./li>
Cats

Cats can be sterilised from the age of six months, ideally before the cat comes on heat for the first time.

Since 1 September 2015, Belgian legislation requires early sterilisation of kittens whenever they change owners, which usually happens at the age of two, three or four months. This measure aims to reduce the number of stray cats and overpopulation in animal refuges.

Small pets
Rabbits

The advised age for sterilisation is between 6 months and 1 year.

Ferrets

The male ferret reaches maturity at between 8 and 12 months and is sexually active from December to August. The female is ready to reproduce when between 7 and 10 months old and has continual oestrus (period of being on heat) from March to August, which is only interrupted by mating!!! Sterilisation is therefore vital and can be done from the age of six months.

Note that it is recommended to chemically sterilise ferrets using sub-cutaneous implants of deslorelin because surgical ablation of the reproductive organs seems to increase the risk of developing hypercorticism, a disease of the adrenal glands.

Prévention

Intérêts : Protection permanente contre certaines maladies très dangereuses et contagieuses. Un rappel est indispensable pour prolonger l’efficacité du vaccin.
Chien

Le chien peut être vacciné efficacement contre 6 maladies différentes :

  • la maladie de carré
  • la parvoviose
  • l'hépatite infectieuse
  • la leptospirose
  • la toux des chenils (vaccination obligatoire lors de rassemblement de chiens : chenils, foire, concours, ...)
  • la rage (vaccination obligatoire si le chien voyage à l'étranger ou dans les Ardennes belges)

La primovaccination

On vaccine systématiquement contre la maladie de carré, la parvovirose, l'hépatite infectieuse et la leptospirose. Dans le cas où le chiot se trouve dans une région à haut risque de contamination par la parvovirose, il doit recevoir son premier vaccin à 6 semaines puis deux autres injections suivront, chacune à un mois d'intervalle. Si sa region de naissance est saine, son premier vaccin a lieu à 8 semaines quand il n'est plus protégé par les anticorps de sa mère. Un unique rappel un mois plus tard devra alors être effectué.

Le rappel

La date du rappel dépendra du type de vaccin utilisé par votre vétérinaire. Certains devront être effectués tous les ans tandis que d’autres nécessiteront un rappel tout les 2-3 ans. Nous vous conseillons de demander ces informations à votre vétérinaire.

Chat

Le chat peut être vacciné efficacement contre 4 maladies différentes :

  • le coryza
  • le typhus (panleucopénie)
  • la leucose, si l’animal sort à l’extérieur ou est en contact avec d’autres chats non vaccinés.
  • la rage (vaccination obligatoire si le chat voyage à l'étranger ou dans les Ardennes belges)

La primovaccination:

Un vaccin contre le coryza et le typhus est systématiquement réalisé. Le chaton doit recevoir son premier vaccin à l’âge de 8 semaines quand il n'est plus protégé par les anticorps de sa mère. Un rappel devra être effectué à un mois d’intervalle.

Le rappel:

Le rappel devra être effectué tous les ans.

NAC
Le lapin

Le lapin de compagnie peut être vacciné contre la myxomatose et le VHD (maladie virale hémorragique). Une seule injection par année est nécessaire. Attention, les lapins « d’appartement » sont également susceptibles d’attraper ces maladies puisque les vecteurs de ces maladies sont des insectes.

Le furet

Il n’existe pas de vaccin enregistré en Belgique qui possède une indication pour le furet. De tels vaccins sont pourtant disponibles dans d’autres pays, les Etats-Unis, par exemple. Deux vaccinations sont importantes chez le furet domestique : contre la maladie de Carré et contre la rage. La rage est une obligation légale en cas de transport à l’étranger et le rappel est annuel.

Intérêt: Contraception permanente. Suppression des risques d’infections de la matrice uterine (Pyomètre, Endométrite), des comportements à caractères sexuels, des lactations nerveuses et, parfois, diminution de l’agressivité.

Dans le cas où la sterilisation a été effectué relativement tôt, celle-ci entraine une diminution des risques de certains type de cancers (mammaires, utérins, vaginales, prostatiques, testiculaires).

P.S: Les pilules contraceptives, sources d'infections utérines et de tumeurs mammaires (entre autres), devraient toujours être évitées.

Chien
  • La femelle: Idéalement avant les premières chaleurs ou à défaut entre la première et la deuxième chaleur. Cette date dépend de la race : entre cinq et sept mois chez les petites, entre sept et douze chez les moyennes, et entre douze et dix-huit mois chez les grandes races.
  • Le mâle: il est généralement conseillé d’attendre la puberté.
Chat

Le chat peut être stérilisé à l’âge de six mois, idéalement avant les premières chaleurs.

Depuis le 1er septembre 2015, la législation belge impose la stérilisation précoce des chatons lors de toute cession de propriétaires, ce qu’ils sont en général à l’âge de deux, trois ou quatre mois. Cette mesure vise à réduire le nombre de chats errants et à limiter la surpopulation dans les refuges.

NAC
Lapin

L'âge conseillé est entre 6 mois et 1 an.

Furet

Le furet mâle atteint sa maturité vers 8 à 12 mois et est en activité sexuelle entre décembre et août; la femelle est prête pour se reproduire entre 7 à 10 mois et a un oestrus (chaleurs) qui va de mars à août et qui n'est interrompu que par l’accouplement !!! La stérilisation est donc indispensable et peut donc être effectué dès l’âge de six mois.

Attention! Il est recommandé de steriliser chimiquement les furets par implant sous-cutané de desloréine car l’ablation chirurgicale des organes reproducteurs semble augmenter le risque de développer de l’hypercorticisme, une maladie surrénalienne.